top of page
  • Writer's pictureErika Stanischewski

My Reflection on the concept of "Enough"

Updated: Mar 7, 2019

I came across a blog post entitled "Enough" from the Blog Authentically Emmie that inspired me to try and understand what the word "Enough" meant to me, and what it means in the context of SRL.


Enough is a strong and powerful word. It can be used as its own stand alone sentence, and this brings a strong and powerful message when used in this context. In addition, enough can mean despair and exhaustion. Enough is just enough....in this context, raw and meaningful emotions can flow into something that makes sense to the person expressing it.


To ME, enough indicates when my potential stops. When I try to convince myself that I should accept my effort as being enough, stop pushing myself to do better, stop striving for improvement and just accept whatever it is, I feel I am agreeing with complacency and status quo. And, I am not OK with this. Yes, this absolutely means that I can be hard on myself, and that I can and do cause myself stress as I push myself to do better but, if deep down I feel that this is the path to betterment, then isn't that enough?


In the context of SRL, enough is contradictory to what SRL projects. Enough implies that goals would never be set, self-reflection would end at the conclusion that one is enough, adjusting, adapting, researching, experimenting would all never see the light, and self-improvement would remain unreachable.





Therefore, how can I incorporate not accepting being enough as I go through this process of self-inquiry? I will apply the SRL method that has been proven to be effective. I will take time to plan and understand what my goal is and the reasons behind it. I will work towards my goal through the strategies that I have laid forth and continually self-reflect on the process' effectiveness and strive to improve where necessary. Finally, when I find myself in a position where progress is proving difficult, I will not simply accept it as being my limit; I will not accept being enough. I will push harder.


References:


Ho, E. (2019, February 3). Authentically Emmie. Retrieved from https://authenticallyemmie.com/blog/

8 views0 comments
bottom of page